## **PRESS RELEASE**

For Immediate Release: August 2, 2021

For More Information: Sally M. Robb 410-841-3600 (w)

## Senate President Ferguson Announces New Senate Leadership and Committee Assignments

Annapolis, MD – Today, Senate President Bill Ferguson announced new Senate leadership and committee assignments due to the resignation of former Senator Doug J. J. Peters. These appointments take effect immediately. The changes announced today include the announcement of Senator Craig J. Zucker as Chair of the Capital Budget Subcommittee, Senator Nancy J. King as Chair of the Education, Business, and Administration Subcommittee, Senator Jim Rosapepe as Senate Chair of the Spending Affordability Committee, and Senator Michael A. Jackson moving to the Senate Budget and Taxation Committee. Other changes include:

- Senator **Shelly Hettleman** as Vice Chair of the Rules Committee;
- Senator Cory V. McCray as Vice Chair of the Capital Budget Subcommittee;
- Senator Obie Patterson as a member of the Executive Nominations Committee;
- Senator **Johnny Ray Salling** as a member of the Spending Affordability Committee;
- Senator Michael A. Jackson as a member of the Pensions and Public Safety, Transportation, and Environment Subcommittees; and
- Senator **Sarah K. Elfreth** as a member of the Capital Budget Subcommittee.

"These committee assignments reflect the depth of knowledge and experience in the Senate," stated Senate President Ferguson. "I have full faith that these Senators will excel in their roles as the Senate continues to move forward on important priorities for the upcoming fiscal year. Marylanders are counting on the Senate to be a prudent and fiscally sound legislative body that supports all residents, and I am confident that with this announcement, the Senate will continue to do just that."