MARYLAND HOUSE OF DELEGATES

Adrienne A. Jones, Speaker

PRESS RELEASE

<u>For Immediate Release:</u> January 5, 2023

For More Information: Speaker's Legislative Office 410-841-3916 (o)

SPEAKER JONES ANNOUNCES NEW LEADERSHIP APPOINTMENTS

ANNAPOLIS, MD – House Speaker Adrienne A. Jones today announced changes to leadership positions for the 2023 legislative session.

Speaker Jones announced that **Delegate Marc Korman** (**Montgomery County, District 16**) will be the **House Majority Leader**. Stepping in to the third most-powerful position in the Maryland House of Delegates, Delegate Korman will lead the debate for the Democratic Party on the House floor.

"Marc is the right choice for House Majority Leader," said Speaker Jones. "He is smart, persuasive and has a track record of bringing delegates together to get tough bills passed."

Delegate Korman has been a member of the House of Delegates since 2015.

Speaker Jones also named **Delegate Jazz Lewis** (**Prince George's County, District 24**) as **House Majority Whip**. Delegate Lewis has been a member of the House of Delegates since 2017. "Jazz has done a remarkable job bringing our members together as Caucus Chair," said Speaker Jones. "He's a respected leader in the chamber and a natural fit to make sure our members are on the same page as it relates to the challenges and opportunities over the next four years."

Delegate Emily Shetty (Montgomery County, District 18) was appointed **Chair of the House Democratic Caucus**. Delegate Shetty has served in the House since 2019. "Emily is someone who quickly gained the trust of her Democratic Caucus colleagues," said Speaker Jones. "She's clearly ready to take the reins of the caucus operation and build on our successes."

OTHER SENIOR LEADERSHIP APPOINTMENTS

- Delegate Nick Charles (Prince George's, District 25): Vice Chair of the House Democratic Caucus
- Delegate Darryl Barnes (Prince George's District 25): Chief Deputy Majority Whip
- Delegate Regina Boyce (Baltimore City, District 43A): Chief Deputy Majority Whip

- Delegate Vaughn Stewart (Montgomery, District 19): Chief Deputy Majority Whip
- Delegate Melissa Wells (Baltimore City, District 40): Assistant Majority Leader

COMMMITTEE LEADERSHIP APPOINTMENTS

APPROPRIATIONS COMMITTEE

- Stephanie Smith (District 45) Chair, Education & Economic Development Subcommittee
- Cathi Forbes (District 43B) Chair, Pensions Subcommittee
- Shaneka Henson (District 30A) Vice Chair, Pensions Subcommittee
- Jazz Lewis (District 24) Chair, Personnel Subcommittee and Vice Chair, Capital Budget Subcommittee
- Emily Shetty (District 18) Vice Chair, Health & Social Services Subcommittee
- Julian Ivey (District 47A) Vice Chair, Public Safety & Administration Subcommittee
- Courtney Watson (District 9B) Vice Chair, Transportation & Environment Subcommittee

ENVIRONMENT & TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE

- Sara Love (District 16) Chair, Motor Vehicle & Transportation Subcommittee
- Vaughn Stewart (District 19) Chair, Land Use & Ethics Subcommittee
- Regina Boyce (District 43A) Chair, Natural Resources, Agriculture And Open Space Subcommittee

ECONOMIC MATTERS COMMITTEE

- Lily Qi (District 15) Chair, Business Regulation Subcommittee
- David Fraser Hidalgo (District 15) Chair, Property & Casualty Insurance Subcommittee
- Brian Crosby (District 29B) Chair, Public Utilities Subcommittee
- Sheree Sample-Hughes (District 37A) Chair, Worker's Compensation Subcommittee
- Andrea Harrison (District 24) Vice Chair, Alcoholic Beverages Subcommittee

HEALTH & GOVERNMENT OPERATIONS COMMITTEE

- Ken Kerr (District 3) Chair, Government Operations and Health Facilities
- Sandy Rosenberg (District 41) Chair, Health Occupations & Long-Term Care
- Ariana Kelly, (District 16) Chair, Public Health & Minority Health Disparities

JUDICIARY COMMITTEE

• Nicole Williams (District 22) – Chair, Public Safety

WAYS & MEANS COMMITTEE

• Jessica Feldmark (District 12) – Chair, Local Revenues

• Darryl Barnes (District 25) – Chair, Revenues

JOINT COMMITTEE CHAIRMANSHIP APPOINTMENTS

- Delegate Tony Bridges (Baltimore City, District 41): House Chair of the Spending Affordability Committee
- Jared Solomon (Montgomery County, District 18): House Chair of the Joint Audit and Evaluation Committee
- Jen Terrasa (Howard County, District 13): House Chair of the Joint Committee on Children, Youth and Families
- Anne Kaiser (Montgomery County, District 14): House Chair of the Joint Committee on Cyber Security, Information Technology & Biotechnology
- Dalya Attar (Baltimore City, District 41): House Chair of the Joint Committee on Fair Practices & State Pensions
- Darryl Barnes (Prince George's County, District 25): House Chair of the Joint Committee on Federal Relations
- Veronica Turner (Prince George's County, District 26): House Chair of the Joint Protocol Committee
- Courtney Watson (Howard County, District 9B): House Chair of the Joint Committee on the Management of Public Funds
- Lorig Charkoudian (Montgomery County, District 20): House Chair of the Joint Committee on Unemployment Insurance Oversight
- Sheree Sample Hughes (Dorchester & Wicomico Counties, District 37A): House Chair of the Joint Committee on Worker's Compensation Benefit & Insurance Oversight
- Robbyn Lewis (Baltimore City, District 46): House Chair of the Joint Committee on Program Open Space & Agricultural Land Preservation

DEPUTY MAJORITY WHIP APPOINTMENTS

- Julian Ivey (District 47A)
- Courtney Watson (District 9B)
- Marlon Amprey (District 40)
- Andrea Harrison (District 24)
- Sandy Bartlett (District 32)
- Nicole Williams (District 22)
- Melissa Wells (District 40)
- Steve Johnson (District 34A)
- Lesley Lopez (District 39)